As Time Moves On

Since 2011 is close to passing away and making way for 2012, I thought about writing a little piece. I have love/hate feelings for 2012. I like that it’s a new year and I can’t wait to see what God has for me in my future. I also have The Hobbit part 1 to look forward to on December 14, 2012. On the other hand, I have a year to listen to people saying the world as we know it is ending at the end of the year. I hate (not) to burst their bubble but the problems of this world won’t disappear on December 21, 2012. They’ll still be present and accounted for on December 22 and beyond. I don’t think it’s the end of an era either. The Era of Man’s Stupidity will last quite a while longer. Also, the world isn’t suddenly going to go apocalyptic on that date either. That can happen anytime between now and then. It’s according to GOD’S design. MAN is not meant to know when the world is ending in any way, shape, or form. It’s futile to predict the exact date. World events are starting to look a lot like the predictions of Revelations are starting to come to pass but we don’t know for sure. We Christians must remain vigilant and mindful.

That brings me down to the conspiracy theories and people who buy into them. Regardless of any grain of truth in them (not likely), I just can’t help but feel that people who buy into and promote conspiracy theories are just fear-mongering so they can stir up the masses. It’s like they don’t even care if they’re right or wrong as long as they can instill fear in someone else. This is how chaos starts. You instill fear in someone and it spreads like a virus unless someone who’s actually sane steps in to put those fears to rest. This is why, regardless of any grain of truth, I despise conspiracy theories. They make me question things and I start fearing the possibility of them being true. It’s not fair to people like me if you insist a theory is true. It’s called a theory for a reason: it may or may not be true. That’s the biggest beef I have with the theory of evolution, it being preached as truth when there’s no real truth/proof to support it. But that’s a whole can of worms so I’m not getting into it now. My stories slam it for me.

The thing I’m dreading the most about December 2012 is the possibility of mass suicides. You wouldn’t believe how many people have bought into that doomsday scenario hook, line, and sinker. Some people would be crazy enough to take their own lives. Kind of wasteful of them when the day after The End will be just like any other day. I say a prayer for those people for the future. They haven’t learned a thing since Harold Camping predicted The End at least three times and none of them came to pass. He just did it for the money. How un-Christianlike of him. It’s pitiful and pathetic.

Here’s my own prediction for December 21, 2012. The day will pass as normal. After all, the world was supposed to end five times in the last decade alone. Why should 2012 be different? We’ll wake up to an unchanged (or still existing) world on December 22, the 2012 believers will start feeling stupid at buying into hogwash (or they’ll start making excuses), and I’ll be counting down the days to Christmas and my 25th birthday in 2013. Hopefully, my fears of mass suicide will be wrong because I really think the suicide rate is going to spike a great deal as 2012 moves forward. People can be cowardly that way. They’d rather end it for themselves instead of waiting to see if it’s true or not.

I pray for humanity’s collective sanity because I think this year is going test our race like never before. People feared the Cold War because the possibility of Soviet Russia nuking us was very real. People fearing a date is pretty groundless. The Mayans didn’t even follow the Gregorian¬† solar calender. They may have gotten to the year 2012 but how the date became settled on December 21st is a mystery to me. It depends on if December as a month even existed back then but even if it did, the Mayans wouldn’t know that.

I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Personally, I’m just going to take one day at a time as I’ve always done. I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Misc. Items, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

