The Sad Reality of War

Came across a comment on DeviantART that struck a nerve so I decided to share my thoughts. This person detests soldiers. The sad thing is that soldiers are the reason America exists. Soldiers in the 1770’s and beyond died for him to have the right to say he detests soldiers. This may come off as jaded or cynical but it’s historical truth that peace between nations of the world never lasts. War is an unending reality. Most countries are born through war. Few were born through peace, if any. I think it’s futile to hope for world peace brought about by man’s hand. It’s not futile to hope for Jesus to come back and truly bring world peace. Only God can do that. Humans are fallible beings. War was hardwired into our collective consciousness since the Fall. There’s nothing we can do to achieve world peace on our own. That’s impossible.

This person also says we should pull out of all the countries we have troops in (Germany, Japan, what have you) and start peace negotiations. I’m of the opinion that even if we do that and succeed at such a venture, countries like North Korea, Russia, or China won’t leave us alone.  I doubt any of their governments are interested in peace with us so I’m not holding my breath. This is why I can’t wait for Jesus to come back. The world will be made right again. All the fighting, greed, and sadness will finally be wiped out and war will cease forever. I no longer hope for world peace because it never lasts for a significant amount of time. It’s cruel to hope for and achieve it, only for it to die a horrible death through a war. As I think back, even when I was too young to understand it, I was living through nothing but wartime. I only took notice when 9/11 happened.

It’s possible to support our troops while simultaneously not supporting whatever war they happen to be fighting. I’ve spent seven years of my life supporting our troops while giving the war itself contempt. I have soldiers in my family. One served in WW2 (God bless his soul). Another served in Vietnam. Yet two others served in Iraq and Afghanistan. I don’t like coming across people who detest our troops because they come off as ungrateful for the rights they have, which are protected by our troops. It’s far better to hate war in general while keeping the troops out of the hate fest. They are willing to put their lives on the line so we can continue to exist.

Soliders fought for our freedom over two hundred years ago and this country was one of many that was born through war. That will never change.

Posted on February 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

